Academic Positions

  • Since Nov. 2021: Associate Professor, Department of Politics and Society, Aalborg University
  • 2019-2021: Senior Researcher, Center for International and Comparative Studies, ETH Zurich
  • 2016-2019: Postdoctoral Researcher, Center for International and Comparative Studies, ETH Zurich
  • 2012 – 2016: Graduate Assistant, Chair for Comparative Political Economy and Public Policy, University of St. Gallen
  • 2009 – 2011: Student Assistant, Chair for Political Science and International Comparative Social Research, University of Mannheim


  • 2013 – 2016: University of St. Gallen, Doctorate in International Affairs and Political Economy
  • 2011 to 2012: University College London, Masters of Science European Public Policy
  • 2008 – 2011: University of Mannheim, B.A. Political Science, Minor: Public Law

Services to the Profession


  • 2021: CIS Junior Scholar Research Grand & IPZ Inequality Grant, 15’000 CHF (with Lukas Haffert & Tabea Palmtag)
  • 2019: SNSF Ambizione Grant, 860’000 CHF


  • 2021: Best paper award Arbeitskreis Europäische Integration e.V. (with Jana Lipps)
  • 2020: Fritz Thyssen Price for best paper in the social sciences
  • 2018: ECSA Suisse best paper award
  • 2017: Rudolf Mäder Price for best dissertation in political science and law, University of St. Gallen
  • 2015: Best Paper Award of the Council for European Studies Political Economy and Welfare Network, together with Patrick Emmenegger and Paul Marx
  • 2013: Dirk Berg-Schlosser Award for best poster presented at ECPR Summer School of Methods and Techniques, Ljubljana, 2nd price (with Andre Walter)